There’s No Diabetes in Kitty Heaven

He came to us as Phineas, a scrawny little 8-month-old tabby cat with a propensity for sucking his paw like a baby sucks his thumb. We promptly renamed him Beetlejuice, a big name into which he immediately expanded. A big name requires a big personality, a big heart. Beetlejuice never let us down in that department.

No matter what changes took place in my household—and there were many—Beetle took them all in stride. Daughter leaving home, an agonizing divorce, a cross-country move, the addition and subtraction of other cats, dogs, and guinea pigs, whatever the change, Beetlejuice weathered the storm with a remarkably good nature and a paw suck. When I met and married Scott, no one was happier than my Bee. He seemed to have an almost conspiratorial connection with Scott, a “we’ve got to stick together since we’re the only two men in a household of girls” type of attitude.

But even his sweet disposition and tasty paw couldn’t get him over his battle with diabetes. We never could quite get his blood sugar regulated, and while he seemed to do pretty well the first few weeks on insulin, it was a short-lived grace period. The past few days, he was vomiting several times a day, and had no energy at all. He slept, ate, and vomited, and little else. His hair began falling out in chunks.

Beetlejuice died this morning. He took with him a piece of my heart that I don’t think will ever belong to any other creature. The last words I spoke to him were, “Come back as a mountain lion, Bee.”

I want to thank all of you who have supported me, and Beetlejuice, over this past few months as we tried to cope, as we tried to give Beetlejuice some quality of life. We gave it our best shot, Bee and I. Sometimes, your best shot isn’t enough.

If a cat has nine lives, may Bee comes back as a mountain lion eight times over. And if a cat has but one life, I shall take comfort in the certainty there is no diabetes in kitty heaven.

Beetlejuice 2005-2013

Beetlejuice 2005-2013

About Smoky Zeidel

Smoky Zeidel is an author whose deep connection to nature is apparent in all she writes. She is the author of three novels, a short story collection, and three works of nonfiction. When not writing or exploring nature, Smoky spends time gardening, camping, meditating, and resisting the urge to speak in haiku.
This entry was posted in blogging, cats, Death, loss of a pet, memoir, pets, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to There’s No Diabetes in Kitty Heaven

  1. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    SO SAD. IF THERE IS A KITTY HEAVEN, “BEETLE” IS IN IT!

  2. Chi says:

    Aw, so pretty. So sorry to hear of his passing, Smoky.

  3. I’m sorry to hear about his passing, but he is now without pain og sickness. Wonderful, that you had a good life together. Piece may be with him.
    Irene

  4. Emily Heath says:

    He sounds like an amazing cat, a mountain lion in spirit indeed.

  5. I’m so very sorry, Smoky.

  6. jr cline says:

    Heart touching story. Reminded me of losing Venus. It is so sad to lose a good friend.

  7. Heartbreaking to lose such a dear friend. Sorry for your loss.

  8. My heart goes out to you. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  9. He’ll live on in your memories – without the diabetes.

  10. misfit120 says:

    We’re so sorry for your loss. We lost our “Oliver” last month to complications with diabetes & what the vet thought was a type of skin cancer. They’ll both be at the Rainbow Bridge waiting on us, with no pain.

  11. tburgess57 says:

    Deepest condolences on the loss of your cat

  12. I’m so sorry for your loss. A part of your life is gone. I still grieve every so often for my Sabbath, the black cat I had for 20 years, who came with me in the divorce, several moves, and all the time she was beside me. I have honored her memory in my “Sabbath Series” of her mystical powers — Well, she bewitched me, didn’t she? Before her, I did not like cats. Now I have another cat, who is no Sabbath Two, but neurotic as hell, but I love her anyway. That’s their forte, for sure. There are cats in heaven, I’m convinced.

  13. I still look over my shoulder for OK, our fluffy orange kitty who had a personality larger than he size. She IS loved and that will never change, just as you will always love you sweet Bee. This is a beautiful post for a very sad day, Smoky.

  14. samspeeps says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. My heart aches for you. Cyberhugs are not enough, not even close, but it is all I can offer. ::: hugs ::: What a beautiful memorial.

  15. Oh I am so sorry for your loss of Bee…my heart hurts for you. Beetlejuice could be my Minnie’s brother in looks. Minnie is 18 this year and I worry over her…fret when I sense she is sick. She went through two weeks with a bladder infection and I am so happy that she is now well and doing good. I truly do believe without a doubt that since God created the animals first, He loves them very much too, so Bee will be in heaven waiting for you, you will see him again. Your tribute to Bee is heart filled and so tender…my heart is with you and Minnie sends kitty loves too.

  16. anvilsandedelweiss says:

    So sorry for your loss, Smoky.

  17. sending you Love, Smoky. my path with Maximilian was so similar and when this four-legged close friend of mine died in 2011, it tore me apart. hugs, hugs and Big Love to you and Scott. -m

  18. joma1976 says:

    So sorry for your loss. I know how devastating the loss of a pet can be *hugs*

  19. chellecordero says:

    Just read this Smoky, sincere condolences on your loss of Beetlejuice. May his memory always keep you warm.

Leave a Reply

